Victoria Plum tree advice please

Viewing 7 posts - 1 through 7 (of 7 total)
  • Author
    pliljerosPliljeros
    Greenhorn
    Private message

Hello.  I have two plum trees in my garden and I have (at least) 3 problems with them, that I think I have identified, but am very happy to be corrected, and will be even more grateful if anyone can offer any advice on how to resolve them please.  The trees are approximate 8 years old, and :
    1) for the last 3 years have had leaf curl.
    2) Last year the fruits withered, fell and dropped, and when cut open and holes inside with black/brown deposits and
    3) this year, the fruit (although bountiful) is mishappen, and when cut open have no stones.
    I think the above has been caused by following:
    1) leaf curl aphids
    2) Plum moths
    3) Pocket plum

but I am by no means an expert, so everything I have stated are assumptions based on google research so as I said, if anyone can offer me any advice at all it will be much appreciated.  I should maybe add that I live in the UK.  Thank you very much in advance, Paul

elongated yellow fruitCurled Leaves

FatzoFatzo
    Green Thumb
    Private message

Hi Paul, no answer yet I guess it’s because the answer isn’t very easy! I’ll give it a shot…

First of all, I think you’re right about the diagnosis. The leaf curl is usually a fungus, though, but aphids spread it out.

Both leaf curl and pocket plum are related. I read in the RHS website here that there isn’t much to do except prune off the weird growths and control the fungus with sprays, I know I used this one against leaf curl and it worked but only in the following year. The RHS also recommends protecting the tree from rain and that makes sense because fungus mostly only sprout when leaves are wet.  Maybe a combination of all this will work to protect the tree next year and at least reduce it somewhat for this year.